Close
FR

Our Club Avant Seine 2020 artists!

Le 16 Jul

Malik Djoudi, Thérapie Taxi, Last Train, DBFC, François & The Atlas Mountains, or Lily Wood And The Prick… Artists with varied horizons, different influences, exciting careers, with one thing in common : they have all been Club Avant Seine!

To be Avant Seine is to be part of a selection of choice. Each year, the Rock en Seine festival ensures its mission: to put forward discoveries, the immense talents of today who will become the great artists of tomorrow, such as Therapie Taxi, Rendez-vous, Hyphen Hyphen, Jeanne Added, ALB, Pegase, Fauve, Petit Fantôme…

How does it work? A jury of professionals scours venues and festivals, listening to hours and hours of music and finally, after debates, arriving at a selection of groups and artists from Ile-de-France and the rest of France. The musical genre doesn’t matter, only the potential and the quality count. For this 2020 edition, necessarily a little special, five names have been chosen. Five names that will benefit from the promotion of the festival and its partners, the Île-de-France Region, Firestone, Culturebox, Sacem and Les Inrocks, five names that will perform during five sessions filmed in new locations in the Domaine National de Saint-Cloud, and that will then be broadcast online, for you. But no more suspense: Bandit Bandit, Lucie Antunes, Michelle Blades, Quinzequinze and Structures. They form the Club Avant Seine 2020 edition.

Let’s meet them.

Bandit Bandit, it’s a duo that becomes a quartet live. At the heart of the project, a couple, Maëva and Hugo, a mini album composed of five tracks, released a few months ago, and a psychedelic garage rock worthy of the greatest. In their iPod? Serge Gainsbourg and Jane Birkin, Françoise Hardy, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Queens of the stone age, Nirvana… On stage? A blast. Nothing less.

At Structures, it’s all about structure. Nothing stands on its own, and the songs are built like buildings, floor after floor, each instrument supporting the other. Structures, in the words of these four boys, “seeks the power of lines and nervous rhythms”. On their debut album, due out in September, they found it.

Who’s Sergeï? The question arises when listening to the first album of the same name by Lucie Antunes. But who is Lucie Antunes anyway? Lucie Antunes is a young woman who has won several Conservatoire awards and is close to Julien Gasc, Halo Maud, Chassol and Vincent Segal, with whom she built up this first work. An inhabited record, almost sensory, so much it says a lot by purifying its atmospheres. A great pop from elsewhere.

She comes from Panama, where she was born, but also from Miami, where she grew up. Then, Michelle Blades, descendant of a family of committed musicians, moved to the Arizona desert to finally find herself, but also her style and her music. Finally, in 2012? It was in Paris that she met the talented Midnight Special Records label. Nombrar Las Cosas, her latest mini album, was released last June. A marvel.

More than a band: a collective! More than a collective: a whole universe! The five members of Quinzequinze elaborate a music they call “climatic”. On stage, the instruments pass from hand to hand, everything is shared, including the trance. Neva Neva, their short film released in 2018, is a wildly rich visual and sound creation. Welcome to their madness.

Here are the five groups and artists selected for the Club Avant Seine 2020 edition. We invite you to meet them online (on our official website, our networks, but also at our partners’) to get to know them, discover them and follow them. To love them, in short. More info on rockenseine.com/en/club-avant-seine-2020/

Fermer
EN

Club Avant Seine - les artistes 2020 !

Le 16 Juil

Malik Djoudi, Thérapie Taxi, Last Train, DBFC, François & The Atlas Mountains, ou encore Lily Wood And The Prick… Des artistes aux horizons variés, aux influences différentes, aux carrières passionnantes, avec un point commun, un seul : ils et elles ont toutes et tous été Avant Seine !

Être Avant Seine, c’est faire partie d’une sélection de choix. Chaque année, le festival Rock en Seine assure sa mission : mettre en avant des découvertes, les immenses talents aujourd’hui qui deviendront les grands artistes de demain, comme Therapie Taxi, Rendez-vous, Hyphen Hyphen, Jeanne Added, ALB, Pegase, Fauve, Petit Fantôme… 

Comment ça marche ? Un jury de professionnels arpente les salles, les festivals, écoute des heures et des heures de musique pour finalement, après débats, arriver à une sélection de groupes et artistes franciliens et nationaux. Le genre musical importe peu, seul le potentiel et la qualité comptent. Pour cette édition 2020, forcément un peu spéciale, cinq noms ont été choisis. Cinq noms qui bénéficieront de la promotion du festival et de ses partenaires la Région Île-de-France, Firestone, Culturebox, Sacem et Les Inrocks, cinq noms qui se produiront lors de cinq sessions filmées dans des lieux inédits du Domaine National de Saint-Cloud, et qui seront par la suite diffusées en ligne, pour vous. Mais trêve de suspens : Bandit Bandit, Lucie Antunes, Michelle Blades, Quinzequinze et Structures. Ils et elles forment le Club Avant Seine édition 2020. 

Faisons les présentations. 

Bandit Bandit, c’est un duo qui devient quatuor en live. Au cœur du projet, un couple, Maëva et Hugo, un mini album composé de cinq titres, paru il y a quelques mois, et un rock garage psyché digne des plus grands. Dans leur iPod ? Serge Gainsbourg et Jane Birkin, Françoise Hardy, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Queens of the stone age, Nirvana… Sur scène ? Une déflagration. Rien de moins. 

Chez Structures, tout est affaire, justement de structure. Rien ne tient par lui-même, et les chansons s’échafaudent comme des buildings, étage après étage, chaque instrument soutenant l’autre. Structures, selon les propres mots de ces quatre garçons, “cherche la puissance des lignes et les rythmes nerveux”. Sur leur premier album, à paraître en septembre, ils ont trouvé. 

Qui est Sergeï ? La question se pose à l’écoute du premier album du même nom signé Lucie Antunes. Mais d’ailleurs, qui est Lucie Antunes ? Une jeune femme titulaire de plusieurs prix de conservatoire et proche de Julien Gasc, Halo Maud, Chassol, Vincent Segal avec lesquels elle a bâti ce premier ouvrage. Un disque habité, sensoriel presque, tant il dit énormément en épurant ses atmosphères. Une grande pop venue d’ailleurs. 

Elle vient du Panama, elle y est née, mais aussi de Miami, où elle a grandi. Puis, Michelle Blades, descendante d’une famille de musiciens engagés, rejoint le désert de l’Arizona, pour enfin se trouver : elle-même, mais aussi son style, sa musique. Finalement, en 2012? C’est à Paris qu’elle rencontre le talentueux label de Midnight Special Records. Nombrar Las Cosas, son dernier mini album, est paru en juin dernier. Une merveille. 

Plus qu’un groupe : un collectif ! Plus qu’un collectif finalement : un univers ! Les cinq membres de Quinzequinze élaborent une musique qu’ils qualifient de « climatique ». Sur scène, les instruments passent de mains en mains, tout se partage, y compris la transe. Neva Neva, leur court métrage sorti en 2018, est une création visuelle et sonore d’une folle richesse. Bienvenu dans leur(s) folie(s). 

Voici donc les cinq groupes et artistes sélectionnés pour le Club Avant Seine édition 2020. Nous vous donnons donc rendez-vous en ligne (sur notre site officiel, nos réseaux, mais aussi chez nos partenaires) pour faire connaissances, les découvrir, les suivre. Les aimer, en somme. 

Plus d’infos sur rockenseine.com/club-avant-seine-2020